We all survived

It’s been a hectic few days but it’s over and EVERYTHING went very well. I spent about 12 hours in Durban on Friday for the funeral and it was great. I don’t get to see my dad’s side of the family much so it was great to catch up a bit. One of my cousin’s is out from Italy and she was telling us all about the tiny little village that they live in, so I’m hoping we’ll be able to visit her soon. My aunt married very young (and my dad didn’t) and had her first of 6 children by the age of 19. That cousin is 52 and my youngest cousin is turning 40 this year, so the big age gaps between us (my dad’s kids) and them meant we have never been close. My dad never really got on with his sister (not much in common I think), although they do seem closer now than ever. I’m not being a snob but quite a remarkable fact is that she had 6 kids and she now has 9 grandchildren (6 of which live overseas in Ireland, England and Italy) but none of those 15 people have ever studied at University. On my mom’s side of the family, her parents had 3 daughters and 7 grandchildren and 6 of those 7 grandchildren completed a University degree (including all 3 of my dad’s kids). What’s the difference? The number of kids, marrying young, genes, schools, who knows. Sorry, that was a complete tangent.

The funeral was lovely, if one can call a funeral lovely. Quite a few different people spoke and they all spoke beautifully, it made me sad that I haven’t spent much time with my gran over the last few years. My gran married again at the age of 87 and the minister that married her and John (her second husband) conducted the service and did an amazing job. John was also 87 and they had 4 wonderful years together before he died. Both my gran and John had been happily married to their first spouses for about 60 years and she (the minister) said that it was because they had, had such happy marriages that they’d been so eager to get married again. So special.

The girls were absolutely fine. Joyce looked a bit tired when my mom and I got back at about 9.30pm but they were sound asleep and only woke at 7am the next morning. She said Ava hadn’t cried at all, which I quite believe as she is always far better behaved for Joyce than she ever is for me. We then moved to my mom’s house for the rest of the weekend as my dad and Chris were both away.

Chris finished his Baviaans Trail Run in 5 and a half hours and he said it was amazing. The drive there and back was long and very rugged. They stayed at a guest house on a farm and the lady who runs the guest house has 3 daughters, one of 9, one of 3 and one just over a year. Their farm is 2 hours drive on a hectic gravel road from Willowmore, which is a tiny little place. The eldest child goes to boarding school in Cradock and her and her neighbour take turns driving to Willowmore to fetch the children (the school bus takes them and fetches them again in Willowmore). Imagine living in such an isolated place? Imagine sending your 7 year old to boarding school?

Here are some photos Chris took.

Chris and Murray at the start

Climbing the mountain 1400m

View from the top (I think)

Chris and Murray at the finish - notice Chris's filthy dirty legs!!

So, it’s all over. Time to get some new stuff lined up. This week is operation Ski Holiday and getting together with the architect so we can get the building show on the road. If we want to have a pool in time for the summer we’re going to have to get our a’s into g.

4 Responses to “We all survived”

  1. coachmarcia Says:

    K, quick (or not so quick question for you).

    We ARE coming to PE in Dec. Do you know of any photographers who do beach shoots – I want to book a family shoot so I can get some cute beach pics of their gorgeous little selves and don’t really know where to start besides google, so I thought I’d ask a local.

    My sister is a bit more traditional and likes “boring, standard” photography. I like a bit of an edge 🙂

  2. zamom Says:

    I’ve sent you an email.

  3. cat@juggling act Says:

    Hi, great to meet you. Also a twin mom and the hubby hails from PE.

Leave a Reply

