Time to chat

I was visiting a friend last week and she was telling me about their trip to Umngazi River Bungalows. We have quite a few friends that have now been to Umngazi River Bungalows and each and every one of them have booked for the following year, when they’ve left. I’m really sorry but I don’t yet know how to link you to their website. It is one of those fully catered family holiday places, although people do honeymoon there (friends of ours did) and there is a kiddies dinigroom and an adult one and places where kids aren’t allowed. It is at a river mouth (so there’s the sea and the river)and there are nannies and loads of activities, etc., etc. It doesn’t come cheap – about R15000 for a family of 4 for a week and it isn’t that easy to get to either as it’s near Port St Johns I think. I would like to go but we would like to go with friends from Cape Town and it’s always hard to co-ordinate leave,etc. This friend (the one whose just been) mentioned that on the one hand she wanted to go with friends but on the other hand she felt it was nice to spend that one-on-one time with her husband once the kids were in bed.

It suddenly struck me that there aren’t a lot of families that eat together, at the table every evening as we do. We eat just before 6pm and only on the very rare occasion is Chris not there. Even if we are going out that night, we are still both there while Zoe and Ava eat. The girls help to feed the dogs while I usually tidy up after supper and then we all pack the toys away. Ha ha what a lie, Chris or I pack the toys away and the other one tries to stop Ava from unpacking it all before bath time!!! Chris usually baths them and we both get them out, read them a story, say prayers and tuck them into bed just after 7pm. We then have the rest of the evening for work, TV and chatting. I’m not saying that we couldn’t communicate more or better but I think we do get to spend plenty of time together and I’d rather spend my holidays with friends or family, as well as Chris and the girls.

3 Responses to “Time to chat”

  1. Sharon Says:

    We also “eat” around the table. Or rather, Ava sits in her high chair and eats and W and I keep her company sitting at the table, in preparation for when she’s older and will eat at the same time as us. The TV is off and we talk. Very special time!!!

  2. coachmarcia Says:

    That sounds lovely! Mine eat too early and I’m not sure how to transition them or if I want to (okay, I’ll be honest, I don’t want to because then V would be gone and I’d have to do supper and baths by myself :))

  3. Nisey Says:

    our mealtimes are all together now and i must say that i know its good for them but J is a fussy eater and whines the whole way through and i miss one on one time with H… fingers crossed that he outgrows the fussiness soon!

Leave a Reply

