The marathon

2am on Saturday morning we were woken by a howling gale. I lay awake for ages afterwards trying to think of reasons why I shouldn’t run later. 3.50am (!!) our alarms went off and we got ready, me in a foul mood and Chris very chirpy which didn’t go down very well. The wind had dropped slightly but it was now raining, yes, raining and we’re in the middle of a drought. What are the chances of that. I know PE does get wind but most days (that are windy), the mornings are beautifully calm and the wind only picks up later in the day.

There was no question of pulling out as the next marathon in PE is the week after we get back from our skiing trip, so if we want to qualify for Two Oceans, this was our chance. The wind was against us for most of the first half and there was a light drizzle but the drizzle didn’t last too long and the wind did die down even more. Chris and I ran together for a lot of the way and I really felt good up until about the last 10-8 km’s. By that stage I went ahead of Chris but those last 8km’s were very tough indeed. In the end I managed a time of 3h39min which is better than I’d hoped for, but I was disappointed that I felt so tired towards the end. Perhaps we started out a bit quickly I’m not sure. Not many people passed me once I slowed down, so I guess it’s the stage when everyone starts to feel tired. In my mind I kept thinking, how on earth will I manage to run another 14km’s (for the Two Oceans)? This was a very flat marathon and the Two Oceans isn’t, how will I manage hills and going further? I’m a little less confident now and we’ll have to start training harder. I guess I need to try and fit gym and hill training into my schedule but again it’s the whole issue of finding the time for both of us to train. Chris isn’t an earlybird but if he had to run when he got home from work, then he would hardly see the girls and they’d be very upset. We’ll just have to sort out a training schedule that suits everyone. I still beat my previous best marathon time by 16 minutes, which I guess I must be happy about. Chris managed a 3h55min and that’s also his best time, but he was disappointed that he slowed down so dramatically. I feel okay today, although my legs are a little stiff and I’ll need to get some new shoes I think. I have pretty much always run in Nike Air Pegasus running shoes. I don’t even really bother to try them on, I just go into the shop and get my size. But, this year they brought out a new model and it’s slightly narrower at the front and my toe next to my baby toe on each foot are taking a battering, a real battering. It’s fortunately not too sore when I’m running but I get a blister under the nail and consequently I’ve been getting new nails on those toes since the Knysna half marathon in July. Each time the new toenail tries to grow, then I get another blister and lose that toenail. I’m sure it’s doing permanent damage. Someone suggested that having gel toenails will help and that only made it worse, so although my shoes aren’t old I think I need to try and track down a pair of last year’s Air Pegasus. How frustrating, why change something that’s not broken? I can’t believe people’s feet are getting narrower and narrower. At the time I bought the shoes, they did have the old model and I tried on both and could feel that the new one was narrower but I really didn’t think it would make such a huge difference. The new model was a much nicer colour which is why I chose them!! Fortunately running is a pretty cheap hobby/sport so a new pair of shoes every 6 months is probably justified for the amount of pleasure satisfaction I get.

In other exciting news our passports arrived with our Schengen visas yay!! And there’s already snow in Europe, YAY again. My dad has completed the estimate for our alterations and as long as the builder’s quote is similar to his estimate, we should be able to afford most of what we want to do, YAY again. Things are really happening now.

3 Responses to “The marathon”

  1. Marcia (123 blog) Says:

    YOu’re amazing! those times look good to me!!!

    And yes, go get wider shoes 🙂 Life is too short to suffer like that!

  2. Irene Says:

    Hi Katherine
    I read your blog all the time but don’t comment often (sorry). Just wanted to tell you I take my hat off to you for your drive and discipline – none of which I have when it comes to diet or exercise *blush* … good luck for training for the Two Oceans – I know you can do it.

  3. darylfaure Says:

    Hey friend! Congrats on your marathon! That is brilliant and I take my hat off to you. Sorry I have not been keeping up with your blog, but I promise to drop you an email soon and update you on things.

Leave a Reply

