Quite chuffed

Chris gave me an awesome book for Christmas written by a guy that ran 50 marathons on 50 consecutive days. He’s an incredible athlete and mostly runs ultra-marathons. Things like 50 and 100 mile races, running for 24 hours and even 200 miles WITHOUT a break, phenomenal stuff. The book is really worth a read if you need inspiration to get moving and it’s full of little practical tips on running as well. Some of the marathons were “live” marathons (run on the day of the actual scheduled marathon in whatever city they were) and the rest were “official” marathons, run on the route of a marathon with a group of other runners but obviously not on the actual day the marathon is usually run. He had a whole support team that travelled in a bus with him around the USA and it took a team of people about a year or more to organise everything. Running a marathon isn’t easy but running one every single day for 5o days is just something else. His training goal for before he started was so that he would be able to run a 4 hour marathon with an average heart rate of 110. Before I’ve got 200m down the road my heart rate is already higher than 110. On most of my training runs my heart rate is about 155. All of the “live” marathons he could run at his own pace and finished them in around 3-3hours 20 min but the other marathons were all run with a very mixed bag of other runners (often a few first-timers) and logistically they needed to stick together so those marathons he did in times between 4 and 4 hours 30 min. They did all sorts of tests on him to determine what effect running so much had on his body. The conclusion, absolutely nothing. The one test checked some level in the blood (can’t remember what it is) but it basically tells you how much micro tissue damage has occured in your muscles. His level for this marker was lower (after 50 marathons) than it would be for the majority of people that had only completed a single marathon. I could bore you with so many other interesting facts. I did find that reading the book made me feel a little bit like a loser. I mean I found the marathon quite tough and am really nervous for Two Oceans and yet he achieves stuff like this. But, there was one shining light for me. Some of the more famous marathons in the USA (like the New York marathon for example) are hard to get into because of the sheer number of people that want to run it each year and there is a limit to how many people can enter. Then there is the Boston Marathon. You have to run certain qualifying times in order to enter (similar to the Two Oceans or Comrades here in SA). To qualify for Two Oceans and Comrades I think you have to run a marathon in under 5 hours. In my age category (18-34) I would need to run a marathon in under 3 hours 40 minutes to qualify for the Boston Marathon (as a lady). A male in my age group has to run a 3 hour 10 marathon. My time for the PE marathon was 3 hours 39 minutes so technically I can run the Boston Marathon this year. That’s pretty darn incredible considering it’s my first one for years and I wasn’t really trying that hard and some people will run all their life and never qualify.

One Response to “Quite chuffed”

  1. Marcia (123 blog) Says:

    you are so awesome – you inspire me!

Leave a Reply

