Packing

Yes, that’s what I’m supposed to be doing but I’m here so the packing will have to wait a few minutes. Firstly, my brother’s house in Brisbane is not flooded or washed away and for now the worst is over so fingers crossed it doesn’t rain there for a while.

Last night we had such a lovely dinner party here and I tried 3 new recipes which is quite unusual for me, usually I’ll only do 1 new thing. Everything was divine if I may say so myself. There were practically no leftovers so I think everyone else agreed. I even went to more effort than usual with the decor, sorry I didn’t take a photo. It probably helped that Chris is on holiday and he entertained the girls while I did all the shopping and the preparation. The new stuff I did was roast potatoes in a pot (very easy with garlic, olive oil and rosemary) and then a roast butternut with caramelised onion, bacon, toasted almonds and a divine dressing made with balsamic, ginger, olive oil, lemon juice and can’t remeber what else. The caramelised onion was so easy to do and I added some other veggies to the butternut as we’re going away soon and I didn’t want them to go to waste. Chris did twon Woolies Tuscan herb chickens on the weber and for pudding I did a meringue berry pudding which was divine. The custard part was milk, little bit of butter and sugar, bread crumbs and 5 egg yolks (sound awful but yummy) which you baked and then made a jammy sauce with 2 punnets of blueberries, caster sugar, a tablespoon of flour and lemon juice. the meringue was made with the 5 egg whites and caster sugar and then you baked it all again for 30 minutes. It wasn’t too rich at all and Zoe asked me to save her some and I only managed to save a very little bit for her. Chris made bruschetta for starters.

So as I said I should be paking. The kids are staying at my parents so I need to send all their clothes. They don’t need toys or books or craft stuff as my mom has lots of that and I’ve got a little gift for them to open each day that we’re away. Zoe starts school again on Wednesday so I need to send all her supplies with – school bag, lunch box, apron, facecloth, crayons, koki’s, soap, toilet paper and tissues (for the school) as well as a few forms that they need. My mom even has nappies, wipes, Calpol, toothpaste, toothbrushes, babywash/shampoo, clips, hairbands, etc. so it’s pretty much just clothes. Ava will have her nap there tomorrow as we’re having the house sprayed for ants,etc. (I like to do it once a year as spraying helps for everything even mozzies and flies). I also don’t want to say goodbye to her. I’d rather she just woke up from her nap and we weren’t there. I can’t tell you how torn I’m feeling. On the one hand I absolutely cannot wait to go but I am going to miss them so much. I know that Zoe will be fine as she understands that we’re coming back but it’s Ava who I’m a bit anxious about. I just don’t want her to be upset or sad. She knows and loves my parents very much but 9 sleeps is a lot. I probably won’t have any more time to write so bye for now.

3 Responses to “Packing”

  1. darylfaure Says:

    It’s going to be hard saying goodbye, but have a wonderful time and stay safe. Hope you have lots of snow and great skiing weather. Have you been telling Ava that you are going away for a bit? That should help prepare her, and give her a big hug and love before her nap. You need to say goodbye to her though, so she doesn’t think you have just dissappeared.

    • zamom Says:

      We have been telling her but I don’t think it’s sinking in. I will definitely say goodbye to her properly before her nap. She’s a very much out of sight out of mind kind of child (as are most her age). She never asks for me when I’m not around. Joyce, who she adores will also be going to my mom’s and we’ve spent loads of time with my mom (and at their house) this week.

  2. coachmarcia Says:

    Have fun!

    I agree with Daryl :)… Chris will be there to reassure you – D is a bit more logical than i am so can talk me calm too.

Leave a Reply

