What a week

It’s going to be a busy one. Chris had his marathon day yesterday and arrived home just before midnight. He has another full day in theatre today, shame poor thing.

I am getting my new car today or tomorrow, yay, can’t wait. I was rushing around a bit yesterday trying to get everything sorted so yesterday was a busy day for both of us. Just quickly before I carry on – there was a time (just after Ava was born) when I would phone my mom to come and help me with the supper/bath/bedtime routine, it almost makes me laugh when I think about it, although a 4 year old and a 2 year old are a whole lot easier than a 2 year old and a newborn – they helped me make the supper (okay that would’ve been quicker on my own but they just love helping), they eat the supper themselves, they pretty much bath themselves (well, play in the bath together and then we help with hair,teeth,etc.), get dressed themselves and then it’s a story or 2 together, prayers together and off to bed, a complete non-event to be honest. So, just trying to say that there was a time when the fact that Chris was going to be home so late would’ve stressed me out but now it just makes me sad that he misses the girls and I don’t get to spend any time with him and I feel sorry for him working so hard.

This afternoon I’m helping set up the church, foyer and church hall for the girls’ school concert tomorrow evening and if Chris finishes early he’ll be going to pick up my car and then this evening is the club run. Tomorrow is the concert and Joyce’s birthday so I need to make her cake and do her card (she wanted money as a present so at least that’s easy). Thursday morning my brother and his family arrive from CT so the girls won’t go to schoolbut rather spend time playing with their cousins. We’re off to Knysna for the weekend at lunchtime on Friday so I need to shop and pack for that, bake cupcakes and get my mom’s present as it’s her birthday on Saturday (the reason we’re going) and I think that’s it for now. Busy time of the year but all such lovely and exciting things going on.

Zoe has just hurt her foot standing on one of the dogs’ hooves. According to her it’s bleeding and really burning and she sounds as if she’s busy dying. There is a minute drop of blood which you can’t actually see but her eyesight is almost as good as her hearing – she hears EVERYTHING no matter where you are in the house, she hears and wants to know all the details – so she can see microscopic amounts of blood. I better go…

One Response to “What a week”

  1. cat@juggling act Says:

    It does get easier. Gosh, I remember nights with 3 month sold twins and a not yet 3 year old that was so hectic.

Leave a Reply

